Need help installing a headunit in an 08 cobalt

newfiedan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
ok guys first the details;
08 cobalt, stock stereo setup no onstar, no steering wheel controls, no amp.
I am a journeyman heavy equipment technician, and I have been doing car audio for about 15 years for myself and friends. My buddy wants me to install his deck/speakers/amp/sub since he trusts me entirely with his vehicle and knows my level of quality. I went to go get the adapter harness so I can may the deck plug and play with the stock wiring and to my amazement they wanted 150 bucks for the adapter. I told them they were nuts. So what I need to know is if the cheapo 12-15 dollar one is all I need or do I really need this overpriced piece of hardware to simply wire in a set of 4 amped speakers and a sub?

Cobalt Tom

Platinum Member
Reaction score
welcome to the site btw :)

so you are putting a new deck in as well?

if yes then i do believe that you need the expensive adapter

I think there are some cheaper versions out there??? but someone else will have to chime in on that.

newfiedan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
yeah the complete setup including the aftermarket deck is alpine. Speakers, deck, amp, sub, etc etc. I just have a hard time believing that you need a 150 dollar adapter to install an aftermarket deck and if you do then the guy who dreamed that up from GM needs to be shot, beat and pee'ed on. Damn engineers always make mechanics lives harder, thats why I quit doing automotive mechanical for a living. I still enjoy doing aftermarket sound in cars but 99% have always had a cheap adapter.

Cobalt Tom

Platinum Member
Reaction score