GF's 2008LS P0016 code...

FloydianSlip024

Reaction score
Hey guys, first time poster here. I'm a mechanic at a small shop. I know the most about tuning OBD1 Hondas.. (Not looking to start a flame throwing match.. I love all cars! Circumstance just led me to Hondas.)

Anyway, my girlfriend's cobalt has a P0016: Crankshaft Position vs. Intake Camshaft Position Correlation Bank 1 Fault- but she has no actual symptoms.. the car runs great!

I swapped the cam sensor real quick because it takes all of five minutes and I can get one super cheap. The old sensor did not have nearly as strong of a magnetic pull as the new one, it had some coked oil on it.. I thought I might get lucky.. Nope.
So, my service manual info is telling me to swap the cam reluctor wheel, it could also be called cam sprocket or cam phasor or phasor wheel..

I call the local stealership and they've got no idea what I'm talking about..

So, I figure I need to cancel my subscription and find a better info provider since it's not nearly the first time their info has been wrong... or maybe the parts guy is a dummy.. I don't know yet.

In the mean time.. Has anyone had this issue and fixed it?

NVM guys.. there probably isn't anything you could tell me that THIS isn't..

onedoughboy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Maybe this '08 has jumped a tooth? How many miles?