A little nitrous scare

rockSTAR_SS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As the title says, I'm a nitrous newb. I'm runnin a 55 shot on my ss/sc. I need all you nitrous geeks to give me your opinions on something.

I sprayed my car tonight for the second time since I've had the kit put on (about a month and a half). The first time I ran it on the track, I noticed a little bit of popping and sputtering in the higher RPMs. I didn't think much of it. The car ran great afterwards!

Well, tonight I ran it again. This time, I took more notice to the high rpm sputtering. It's happening around 5-6k rpms. After that, I ran the car with no spray. No sputtering. It pulled nicely and still runs great in normal driving and at idle.

Now, don't get me wrong. The car pulls way harder on the nitrous. It's just this sputtering that has me worried. I don't have a wideband to keep an eye on my AFR, so I can't really tell you what's going on there. I can give my mods list in hopes that we can make sense of all this mess.

performance mods list:
GM Stage 2 tune
2.9" pulley
NGK BKR7e gapped @ .035"
Airbox mod
Magnaflow exhaust
Lightly ported and polished throttle body and m62
ZEX wet kit w/55 shot jets

I'm trying to find some 60's and a modular 2.8" pulley so I won't have to worry about maxing out the 42's anymore. Any help would be greatly appreciated

ACE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i would lay of the spray till you figure it out. it would suck if you detonated

rockSTAR_SS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Good advice! I think I'll do just that until I figure it out, like you said.

rockSTAR_SS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Got it from a friend of mine. It's a full kit. Standard Zex wet kit, with lots of extras. Bottle heater, purge, pressure gauge, etc. I like it so far.

ACE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
nice kit maybe call zex's customer service and ask them im sure they would be helpful