Add Auxiliary Port to 05-07 Balts

Discussion in 'Electrical, audio, video' started by cobalt123, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    cant take credit
    Tools/Equip:

    Wire Strippers
    Needle Nose Pliers
    Sockets
    Wire Taps or Crimps
    Wire
    Aux Audio Cable you are willing to cut




    1) The first thing you need to do is remove the radio. A tutorial for this can be found on chevycobaltforum.com
    [​IMG]


    2) Disonect the harnesses attached to the back of the radio. There should be two, or else this tutorial will not work for you. We will be using the smaller of the two. It is a 12 pin connector, with 5 wires going to it. Three of these wires carry the audio from your XM receiver to you Head Unit.

    [​IMG]

    3) The three wires referred to in the above step should come grouped together from factory. In this picture, they are the three wires on the left. Green\White, Brown\White, Tan\White.

    [​IMG]

    4) Depending on how you choose to connect to these wires, the following steps will vary slightly.



    5) If you are using wire taps: Cut three short pieces of wire, make sure they are the same gauge as the harness. Crimp one wire tap onto each one of the wires pointed out earlier, along with one of the pieces of wire you just cut. In the picture below, ignore the two wire taps in the background. You should only have three, which match the three in the foreground.

    [​IMG]

    6) Take your Auxiliary Audio Cable and cut off one end. There Should be three wires. Two should be sheathed, and the other one should be uncovered; this is the ground.

    7) On the harness, as mentioned earlier, the three wires we just tapped into carry the audio from your XM receiver to your Head Unit.

    Tan\White - Ground
    Brown\White - Left (Or Right, does it really matter?)
    Green\White - Right (Or Left, does it really matter?)

    You will now want to connect the three wires from you Aux cable, to the three wires above, you can see them trailing into the foreground. The ground wire on the Aux cable goes to the ground on the harness. And the other two, go to the Green and Brown wires on the harness.

    Use wire crimps to connect the wires on the Aux cable to the corresponding wires coming from the harness.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    8) Tune your XM radio to channel 0, and plug in your music player. It should work. If it doesn't, check your crimps and splices. See if your audio changes when you wiggle them. Redo each as necessary.


    9) Put everything back, and crank that shit!


    Bonus:

    After wiring mine this way, I noticed that my audio cut out intermittently because the taps I used were to big. I then decided to use crimps all around instead.

    To do this, I cut the three wires on the harness. I used a single crimp on each wire to attach the wire coming from the connector, to two wires. One of these two went to the Aux cable, and the other continued to the factory wiring.

    This enabled for a cleaner installation, and most likely a more reliable one
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  2. mrsilent13

    mrsilent13 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    too bads i dont haz xm
     
  3. sundevil07

    sundevil07 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    i got so pumped only to be let down :hahano:
     
  4. mrsilent13

    mrsilent13 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    it happenz....i use a wireless transmitter...but it dont work too well sometimes...sending a signal through the antenna...sometimes it mixes with the local stations...so i dont even bother anymore
     
  5. sundevil07

    sundevil07 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    yeah i tried that and it sounded like am radio in a tunnel lol
     
  6. Hailcesar75

    Hailcesar75 Full Access Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    X2 ****, guess theres no way of doing this without xm?.

    you think theres anyway to tap into the radio and use that setting. you know, install it the same kinda way like this how to. then the radio will be disabled and you can use your ipod
     
  7. mrsilent13

    mrsilent13 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, Ca
    i bet if you were abel to find the xm connector....we would be able to do this

    ---------- Post added at 07:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:13 AM ----------

    unless our head units are not compatible with xm...but it should be right

    ---------- Post added at 07:15 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:14 AM ----------

    unless our head units are not compatible with xm...but it should be right
     
  8. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    I suppose but you must really not want to use the radio
     
  9. YelloEye

    YelloEye Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    I have one sitting in my garage that plugs into the antenna, works pretty well but I bought an aftermarket headunit so no need.
     
  10. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    aftermarket headunits look better too imo
     

Share This Page