Alternator wine

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by wehan, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. wehan

    wehan Full Access Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Thoes of you that have systems in your cobalt, did you have trouble with alternator whine and/or noise into you system? I just upgraded my amp from a Kicker zx650.4 to a Crescendo c1100.4 and I have an unavoidable wine now, rca cables are some of the best (soundrive hf). What could be causing such an invasive noise in my cars electrical?
     
  2. YelloEye

    YelloEye Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    Check the ground on your amp. Did you keep your RCA set away from power wires?
     
  3. emperorjj1

    emperorjj1 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    also there are 2 different types of RCA's so if you are using the wrong one that could cause noise. figuring that out is hella impossible though so. other things i would try are

    1 pico fuse mod if the HU is a pioneer
    2 Amp ground. check connection's are tight and no fraying or touching wires anywhere. Ensure the paint is removed from the car ground location and if all that does nothing try a new location for the ground. With the battery in the trunk a direct wire to the battery is never a bad idea. make sure the wiring itself is good.
    3 HU ground. try making your own HU ground instead of relying on the harness ground. If you are ballsy and have time run a 18g or larger ground to the amp for the HU.
    4 RCA's make sure they are running on the passenger side. any power ground remote ect should be on the drivers side.
    5 Amp theres a possibility you got a busted amp try it in a different vehicle or mess with it to see if the amp itself could be the cause
     
  4. wehan

    wehan Full Access Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    1 Sony head unit, no pico
    2 amp grounds are good, tried diferent locations with no change, paint is all gone and grounds are on bare steel under a large bolt I also have a run of 1/0ga from my ground to the battery (-)
    3 run of 12ga run directly to same grounds as amps.
    4 RCA's are Soundrive HF, a coxaial cable made from 4 conductor Canre microfone cables, they really dont get mych better than thin for under $150, also emailed the amp manufacturer to verify the amp has single ended inputs (it does) as the single ended inputs require coaxial and differential inputs require twisted pair, rca cables are away from all other electrical (especially when I pulled the head unit and set it on the shifter, routed the rca 's out the front of the door, over the roof and in the back of the door, looped over rear headrest and straight down to my amp)
    5 pulled the amp and put in a different one (with single ended inputs as well) and I get the same noise.

    :emotions122:
     
  5. emperorjj1

    emperorjj1 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    do you get whine if you take the HU out altogether? try running an mp3 player using the 3.5 mm to rca at the front and see if you get noise and if so then try at the amp directly
     
  6. wehan

    wehan Full Access Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Yup did that, noise still there.
     
  7. emperorjj1

    emperorjj1 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    which part? you plugged the mp3 player to the amp directly and still noise or noise at the HU end?
     
  8. wehan

    wehan Full Access Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Plugged mp3 player into amp and still noise from amp, unplug mp3 player and still noise, then disconnect rca cable and noise is gone, I can disconnect rca at head unit and noise is gone to.
     
  9. emperorjj1

    emperorjj1 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    hmmm. If the amp is making noise with just the RCA plugged in then it sounds like an issue with the amp. Especially if you are plugging the MP3 player directly into the amp bypassing the RCA's in the car.

    the last thing i can think of is trying to get a set of twisted pair RCA's and seeing if that does anything. Cheaper then an amp and a hail mary approach
     

Share This Page