disable automatic A/C feature

Discussion in 'Electrical, audio, video' started by prey4villains, May 15, 2014.

  1. prey4villains

    prey4villains Junior Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Back when I had my Spec-V, someone over at b15sentra.net posted a how-to on how to disable the a/c compressor from turning on whenever you switched the climate controls to defrost. obviously, you don't ALWAYS need the a/c running whenever you put on the defroster so it was a nice little way of saving some gas and whatever other positives come from not running the a/c. Does anyone know if this is possible with the cobalts?

    Link to the thread:

    How To: Disable Automatic A/C "Feature" without electrical modification - B15sentra.net - Nissan Sentra Forum
     
  2. YelloEye

    YelloEye Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    Interesting idea. All the pictures are broken but the idea might still work.
     
  3. bluebaltz

    bluebaltz Full Access Member

    Posts:
    930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    i love the idea! i dislike the clutch popping in & out constantly in the winter lol

    i s'pose the potential prob is that the ac supposedly needs to cycle every now & then to keep the seals healthy & lubed up. i'd imagine it may loose a little bit of life if it goes six months every year without being used. but i don't know that for fact...
     
  4. YelloEye

    YelloEye Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    It shouldn't, my AC doesn't get run a whole lot.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2014
  5. prey4villains

    prey4villains Junior Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Yea I guess when I get a new headunit (or have some time to screw around with this idea) I'll take a look and see if there's anything resembling the switch that was used in the sentras. I remember exactly what it looked like since I did end up doing this mod and it worked wonderfully.

    ---------- Post added at 12:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:25 PM ----------

    [​IMG]

    here's a picture of the switch; it's the small black object on the bottom right. Notice the metal flap or whatever and the orange button underneath; all you needed was a ziptie in between the metal piece and the switch itself and it would prevent the button from being depressed.
     
  6. YelloEye

    YelloEye Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    Ah. Yeah we don't have that. I'm pretty sure our stuff all runs through the BCM.

    Though there might be a trace on the HVAC board that would do the same thing if you cut it.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2014

Share This Page