Internal or External?

YelloEye

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Well since we don't have a FI section in here I figured this would be the best place to start this thread.

I'm new to the whole turbo idea insofar as wastegates, BOVs and overall turbo efficency goes. So what are the differences in getting a turbo that has a wastegate built in or getting one that mounts to the manifold? I realize the physical differences, but what about the performance side of things? Reliability?

USMCFieldMP

Full Access Member
Reaction score
http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbobygarrett/tech_center/turbo_tech101.html

Wastegates
On the exhaust side, a Wastegate provides us a means to control the boost pressure of the engine. Some commercial diesel applications do not use Wastegates at all. This type of system is called a free-floating turbocharger.

However, the vast majority of gasoline performance applications require a Wastegate. There are two (2) configurations of Wastegates, internal or external. Both internal and external Wastegates provide a means to bypass exhaust flow from the turbine wheel. Bypassing this energy (e.g. exhaust flow) reduces the power driving the turbine wheel to match the power required for a given boost level. Similar to the BOV, the Wastegate uses boost pressure and spring force to regulate the flow bypassing the turbine.

Internal Wastegates are built into the turbine housing and consist of a “flapper” valve, crank arm, rod end, and pneumatic actuator. It is important to connect this actuator only to boost pressure; i.e. it is not designed to handle vacuum and as such should not be referenced to an intake manifold.

Internal-Wastegate.gif

External Wastegates are added to the exhaust plumbing on the exhaust manifold or header. The advantage of an external Wastegates is that the bypassed flow can be reintroduced into the exhaust stream further downstream of the turbine. This tends to