Reset Keyfob.

Discussion in 'Electrical, audio, video' started by Firebalt07, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. Firebalt07

    Firebalt07 Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler TX
    credit goes to dragon 300zx on another forum...

    i decided to post this because i saw someone else asking about there onstar and them not having a fob and if they could use one... you might try this... i know on my last car from chevy it didnt come with one, but all the cars were capable of it. so just had to get one and associate it with the vehicle... here ya go.

    The fix is at the end if you don't care about how I found it.

    So, I have read the stories... "This is a dealer only fix...", "No Owner Fix Possible....", Etc.

    When I got my cobalt the keyfob didn't work, the battery had died at one point and it was no longer associated with the car.

    I did a butt load of research and found that there was no way to reset it like on my other chevy cars. I called the dealer and was told in fact there was no way to fix this other than going there and paying 50-60 bucks to have them reprogram it.

    My car got rear ended a week later and all of the sudden the keyfob just started working.

    So I suggest you just go get rear ended.............



    Although this fixed my car I do not recommend you try this....

    My GF drives a cobalt (hers is an 05 mine is an 06), her KF battery died recently and we couldn't get it working again.......

    I hate dealer only fixes and was determined to find another option. I shouldn't have to pay them 50 bucks for 15 seconds....

    So I searched and searched and searched, and eventually I found a post saying that pulling the fuse for the radio would reset the system.... No way, that's just to damn easy....

    So I tried it, and it worked.. Here is what I did.

    The Fix.

    I pulled the interior fuse cover from the passenger seat.
    I located and pulled the 10A fuse for the Radio (labeled RDO).
    I turned the car to the on position to verify the radio was disabled.
    I turned the car back off and removed the keys.
    I waited 30 seconds (I'm a Network Engineer, we always wait thirty seconds after unplugging something).
    I put the fuse back into the correct spot.
    I then held down the lock and unlock key on the keyfob at the same time till the locks on the doors activated.
    I then tested the keyfob and made sure it was locking and unlocking the doors and activating the security system.
    This process did reset my security settings on her car so I had to go through the reset process (holding in the information and reset key at the same time then following the prompts).

    The keyfob now works, and I didn't have to pay some ******* dealer $50 for 15 seconds.
     
  2. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    thanks for the post i would try it if i hadnt already trashed it
     
  3. Firebalt07

    Firebalt07 Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler TX
    maybe my first ever sticky in my life?... and my first post as a sticky? HAHA jk... but seriously...
     
  4. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    haha its approved but wait for members input first before consider stickies
     
  5. Firebalt07

    Firebalt07 Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler TX
    lol... i was jk... but if it is awesome... i hope it helps. i got lucky on my reset. my other fob broke and got one off ebay for liek 10 shipped. went to the dealer and a buddy of mine i havnt seen since high school was working there... he did it for free... WOOT WOOT. but i got another one after i saw this and tried it. now i have a second one just in case. DUDE YOUR IN TYLER TX!!! ME TOO!!!
     
  6. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    i had used an cheap ebay one but it broke just like the one i got from the factory and Peltier chevrolet did the sync for free cuz i told em i bougt it from another dealer lol yeah im from tyler currently in palestine
     
  7. Firebalt07

    Firebalt07 Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler TX
    thats awesome!
     
  8. cobalt123

    cobalt123 Platinum Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    did you post and introduction thread i havent seen it
     
  9. Firebalt07

    Firebalt07 Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Tyler TX
    what you mean?
     
  10. Tuner923

    Tuner923 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Location:
    Norristown, PA
    this is a sticky
     

Share This Page