Highbeam delay?

ben_g77

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to Cobalts, I just traded in my '04 Mazda3 for a '09 LT coupe. One of the few complaints I have so far is the stock headlights on my Cabalt suck. The lowbeams are OK, but the highbeams don't seem much brighter, are aimed too low, and have a split-second delay which feels a lot longer going 55 around a curve. I know most of this is due to the low/highbeams coming from one bulb, unlike my Mazda that had seperate bulbs.

Is there a way to improve the highbeams (in particular, adjusting the height and sharpness of the cutoff) and get rid of the delay? I've seen projector style headlights on ebay that look like they use separate bulbs, but I'm wary of replacing the stock headlights with something cheap and problematic.

Help!

Intmd83r

Full Access Member
Reaction score
you can try getting silver star lights . aslo make sure you bulbs are in all the way . had a friend that on his cobalt he didnt twist the plastic ring on right and his light was pointing straight down

---------- Post added at 09:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:02 AM ----------

the ring was cock eyed and it made the light point down

ben_g77

Reaction score
Ok, Thanks. And the split second delay is normal and no way to fix it?

Intmd83r

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i dont have stock headlights . i dont remember but with my projectors i have diffrent bulbs for highbeams . but my wifes car has a little delay with her headlights but it isnt much . its like blinking your eyes

ben_g77

Reaction score
Yeah it isn't a long delay, more annoying than anything.

Any recommendations on projectors? I've heard mixed reviews on the reliability of some of these aftermarkets headlights...

Intmd83r

Full Access Member
Reaction score