Aftermarket stereo problems Pontiac G5

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by marieevel98, Dec 6, 2016.

  1. marieevel98

    marieevel98 Junior Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi guys! I recently installed a new audio deck (Kenwood) in my Pontiac G5 2008. I've got the metra wiring harness that came with a little red wire for electricity. All my wires are connected to the ones on the radio, but where the .... Do i plug the red one? Like my radio is installed but i don't have any power so it's not working... May somebody help me?
    I changed the deck because the original one was having a hard time reading cd and auxiliary jack wasn't working anymore, and I drive 10hrs straight like four times a month.
    We tought about by passing it by the fuse box inside the car but how so?
    Waiting for your help! I'm leaving in 10 days so that would be great to have music by then!
     
  2. djyeti

    djyeti Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    You need to hook it up to an ignition output. When I got my car buddy before me had it wired to a constant 12v and had it wired through a dumb switch. I believe I tapped into a spot on the passenger side underneath the dash on the console side.
     
  3. marieevel98

    marieevel98 Junior Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    Do you have a picture of how you did it? I don't know where to search. I look dumb but I don't know much about that haha. I changed an audio deck once and it wasnt this complicated.
     
  4. marieevel98

    marieevel98 Junior Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    By the way, this is the end of the red 12v power wire.
    20161206_142243.jpg 20161206_142300.jpg 20161206_142210.jpg
     
  5. djyeti

    djyeti Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    There's a panel on the passenger side with the fuse box behind it[​IMG][​IMG]

    That fancy connector you have looks like it may slide in with a fuse. When you do this make sure it is the right side of the fuse so it protects the deck.
    [​IMG]
    You can see where I put the black wire for mine.
     
  6. marieevel98

    marieevel98 Junior Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    So I basically just slide it in a slot and put a fuse on it? Yeah i know the fuse box is there, that was where I was planning on putting it. What kind of fuse do I add?
     
  7. djyeti

    djyeti Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    I believe so. Keep the fuse small. I have it under a 5amp with no issues.
     
  8. djyeti

    djyeti Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Found this image to clarify for myself haha. Hope you got it working again.


    [​IMG]
     
  9. marieevel98

    marieevel98 Junior Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    Wow that's perfect! Thanks
     
  10. YelloEye

    YelloEye Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    djyeti ftw. Nice how to there man.
     

Share This Page