Just bought an 08' 2dr Coupe LS

BankDude

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. New to the forum here. Just bought myself a 2008 silver Cobalt 2dr coupe LS and am looking at modding a little bit. Had a 98' Cavalier before this but the heater core blew up for the second time in a year and I didn't really feel like spending the time to put another one in since it has 205k miles. I don't exactly have a price range right now but am pretty much looking for some advice as to what I should start off at.

It's just a little 2.2 and it gets good gas mileage. For sure want to put an exhaust and an intake sooner or later. Probably gonna lower it too but I have NO clue what brands to look for. And would also like to know if anyone knows of any good chips to throw in there too. I'm somewhat car savvy as to I can do my own repairs and installations, but I've never done any performance mods on a car before, so I don't exactly know what to look for. So if anyone's got some suggestions as to what to put in and in what order to put them in, that'd be awesome. Thanks.

Not sure if there's a thread about this. I apologize if there is, you can throw me in the right direction if there is one though.

cobalt123

Platinum Member
Reaction score
if you dont want forced induction. bolt ons are generally very easy installs on the cobalt..

exhaust for 2.2s inexpensive n1 tsudo catbacks sounds great i haz one...

your an 2008 im pretty sure you dont have secondary air injection so any intake is good. i have a 2.2 and have the K&N short ram intake great had it for 2 years

downpipes

ZZP 2.5 downpipe with magnalfow highflow cat

Headers

any you want but the i recommend either the LSJ header or the GMPP honed extruded exhaust manifold

you can get a 2.4L intake manifold and throttle body and a tune from trifecta and your naturally aspirated

Intmd83r

Full Access Member
Reaction score